How Would You Feel…?

To all the people out there who judge others based on who they love:

How would you feel if someone told you that it was wrong to be in love with someone?

How would you feel if someone told you that your love life was a disgrace?

I don’t think the answer would be ‘great!’

It’s always made me sick when people sit there and say cruel things about others – especially when it has to do with same-sex couples. I’m straight, but it still really upsets me. Love is love and I know some amazing individuals who happen to be homosexual. I can honestly say that I don’t understand why some people have such an issue with it.

While I’m Catholic, I can honestly say that I don’t believe that God cares if who you love is the same sex or gender. All I think God cares about is that the two individuals are kind, caring and in love. One thing I hate is when people sit there and say that gay marriage ruins the sanctity of the practice. I just don’t get it. How does being in love ruin the sanctity of marriage? If you ask me, things that ruin the sanctity of marriage are things along the lines of: abuse, cheating, lying, etc. How is loving someone with all your heart wrong?

I remember this one time when I went to a concert with some relatives and their friends. There was a lesbian couple nearby and that night, one of my relatives went on and on about how wrong their relationship was. This relative didn’t even know these people! She was set on saying how wrong their lifestyle was; set on condemning them and judging them. What did they do to her? Nothing!

If you don’t believe in gay marriage – fine. Seriously, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I just don’t understand why some people have to be so cruel. It’s really none of our business who someone loves.

I also remember this one time when I wrote a post about how I thought that same-sex marriage should be allowed. An individual posted how they didn’t know what they were going to tell their daughter if same-sex marriage was approved. She compared same-sex marriage to something along the lines of a seven year old wanting to date a forty year old out of love. I didn’t know what to say! One is a matter of two consenting adults who fully understand a relationship and one is a ‘relationship’ between a young girl who doesn’t understand everything and a man over legal age! How can the two be compared?

The point of this post is not to try to convince people to be for same-sex relationships. Rather it is to point out the need for respect in this world. Just because you may not respect someone’s decision, that doesn’t mean that you can’t respect the individual. Whether someone is straight, gay, bi-sexual, etc. does not make them good or bad – it just means that they have different sexual orientations. If you’re straight you wouldn’t want someone coming up to you and saying “You can’t get married or love that person because of this or that” would you? I know that I wouldn’t!

Next time you’re about to judge someone because of who they love, consider this:

How would you feel if you were judged based on who you loved?

How would you feel if you were told that your love life ruined the sanctity of others’?

 

 

2 thoughts on “How Would You Feel…?

Leave a Reply

