That’s Not The Truth!

I have to admit that when I was younger, I didn’t really think that prejudice and racism still existed. Don’t get me wrong, I think I knew that it existed somewhere in the world, but I didn’t realize just how close to home it existed. Later on I would come to realize that prejudice does still exist and just how hateful some people can be.

I just recently heard someone say these words, “Everyone is a little racist!”. Right away I felt angry! This is not true! Yes, I know racism and prejudice exists and yes I’ve heard horrible comments, but I refuse to believe (and know for a fact that it isn’t true) that everyone is at least a little racist.

I have never disliked someone due to their race. I have disliked someone because they are rude, cruel, or just not pleasant to be around, but I have never thought to myself, I don’t like this person because they’re [fill in the blank with a race]. I know that anyone of any race can be nice or they can be mean. I’ve seen white people who are cruel and I’ve seen black people who are cruel. I’ve had best friends who are white and best friends who are black. It really doesn’t depend on race.

I’m happy to say that, for the most part, I’ve never been friends with anyone who is racist or prejudice. I did find out as I mentioned once that one of my friends was prejudice (maybe she thought she wasn’t but the comment she made certainly said otherwise), but I broke off that relationship as soon as the girl made the comment. For the most part, all of my friends have understood that race does not determine whether someone is kind or mean and does not determine whether or not someone makes a good friend.

What really upsets me is how many racist and prejudice comments are spoken. I went somewhere once and I kept hearing all kinds of prejudice remarks! I hated it! I honestly wanted to leave where I was! This was the same day that this other individual said that everyone is ‘a little racist’. I’m sorry, but that’s not true and I refuse to believe that! I know for a fact that not everyone feels this way! I know for a fact that not everyone is racist or prejudice!

Please remember that regardless of race, there are good people out there who make amazing friends!

4 thoughts on “That’s Not The Truth!

Leave a Reply

