The Handmaid’s Tale in Relation to Factory Farming

Anger Spread Thin

Yep. Still very much invested into this bandwagon. I brought up some women’s issues a few weeks ago that was sparked by Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. And while that is an obvious comparison, this one is less so. I may be just rambling while I write this, but while I was reading The Handmaid’s Tale, I kept being reminded of battery/factory farms and how those deplorable industries treat their animals. It’s one of the lead on reasons why I’ve given up eating chicken – I’ve cut out red meat for the longest time, but I feel like chicken needs to be out of my life as well.

I understand that this may need a little bit of explaining, since the Handmaids in the novel aren’t actually produced for food. They are, however, treated like cattle in the sense that they’re expected to breed in order to repopulate…

View original post 925 more words

Leave a Reply

