Stepping Aside

This site has been going for a number of years. Along the way we’ve confronted homophobes, racists and bigots. Hopefully, in at least some cases, we’ve made people think. It’s been fun, frustrating and intense, in equal measure.

That said, I’ve reached a point where I’m too tired and worn out by battling the ignorant and the idiots. It can wear you down and you run the risk of becoming like them, at least in terms of how you talk and how you handle others. I do not want to end up like certain, unnamed miscreants who’ve hounded this site. I’m already aware that there is a lot of aggression in my posts, and I don’t like that. As a result, I am looking to turn over the reigns.

Whoever takes on the mantle, there are a few things I want to say. To quote from Doctor Who, ‘hate is always foolish, and love is always wise’. Be passionate, but wherever possible, do not be cruel. I fear I have lost sight of that, and that’s why I need to step back. It’s important to confront racism, misogyny and homophobia. We need to face bigotry in all its forms, for inaction lets it grow. These are the things this site was created to tackle, though I’ve posted far too few examples of kindness and compassion, so to whoever takes over, maybe add a bit of that too?

If you want the keys to the car, drop a comment, or email me – darth_timon@yahoo.co.uk.

6 thoughts on “Stepping Aside

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.